Dating A Ghost (spoken word) –

Standard

Five months with you
Was like staring at the same stars every night but still being amazed by how they shined against the same black night sky.
The first time we kissed,
You apologized for getting a boner.
We made out for three hours like horny teenagers too afraid to go further.
Ever since that first kiss, I vanished inside you.
Whenever your lips grazed mine after that night,
It still felt like that first time.
I had you. And you had me.
We were content for a moment.
A few weeks later, you began to unpack your soul –
Always leaving it at home.
This beautiful body was walking around filled with bones,
But still managed to be
Completely hollow.
Ghost like.
My friend one day said, “Katie, you talk about him as if he is already deceased.”
Everyday you became more like a machine.
Just going through the motions like you will always be living like this.
We ended up developing a normal routine with very limited speaking.
Every night was predictable but that was okay with me.
Because even after life escaped you,
Your silky brown eyes still shimmered like a starry night.
Your hands still felt as if there was blood running through them.
Your body was able to create a beautiful rhythm that still damages me every time somebody tries to mimic it.
There isn’t another pair of eyes that can pry yours from my brain.
Or another smile to drive me insane.
And even though you are practically the walking dead the most I ever felt alive was when your body was next to mine-
Lying still. Slowly breathing.
The nights I am at my worse I still feel waves of you running through me,
Those nights I mistake my pillow for your chest;
Both without a heartbeat.

Leave a comment